Assault and battery is typically considered a misdemeanor charge and is punishable by up to 93 days in jail and fines up to $500.
Aggravated assault is a misdemeanor in Michigan. It is defined by Michigan statute as an assault, without a weapon, that results in a serious or aggravated injury. This misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $1,000 in fines. However, if you have prior assault convictions on your record, the prosecution may pursue a harsher, enhanced sentence.
Please call our office today at (616) 915-6576 for a free consultation
Assault and Battery: Felonies
If you are accused of assault someone without intending to cause death or great bodily harm, and with the use of any gun, knife, or other weapon, you could face charges of felonious assault. This particular charge carries up to 4 years in prison and up to $2,000 in fines. MCL 750.82
The term “maim” includes removing a portion of another person’s body or face or damaging it with an intention of causing it to be unusable. Assault with intent to maim is a felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. MCL 750.86
Assault with Intent to do Great Bodily Harm (less than murder)
If you commit an assault with the intent to do “great bodily harm” but less than murder, you may be found guilty of a felony and sentenced to up to 10 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
Great bodily injury is defined by Michigan statute as one that causes serious impairment of a bodily function or internal injury, serious burns, severe cuts, poisoning, or multiple puncture wounds. MCL 750.84
Assault with Intent to Commit Murder
A felony, assault with intent to commit murder carries a harsh potential sentence. If you are found guilty of this crime in Michigan you are facing a potential life sentence. MCL50.83
Assault with Intent to Rob and Steal
Your potential sentence when facing a charge of assault with intent to rob and steal depends on whether there was a dangerous weapon involved. If you are found guilty of this crime without a weapon involved you faced the potential punishment of up 15 years in prison. However, if you were in possession of a dangerous weapon at the commission of the crime, you are facing up to a life sentence. Assault with intent to rob and steal, with or without a weapon are both felonies. MCL 750.88, 750.89
Additional Michigan Assault Penalty Enhancement.
It is important to note that all assault cases can carry harsher sentences if the crime was “domestic” in nature. This means if the victim was a spouse, ex-spouse, significant other, someone you share a child with, or roommate, you run the risk of having your sentence increased.