Frequently Asked Questions

DUI Frequently Asked Questions

How Much Does a DUI Lawyer Cost in Michigan?

The cost of a DUI lawyer in Michigan typically ranges from $1,000 to $5,000, with $3,500 being the average. The total cost depends on whether it’s a first or consecutive charge, a misdemeanor, or a felony. If you don’t hire a DUI lawyer, you may face charges up to $15,000 for a DUI arrest and conviction.

Working with an experienced and dedicated lawyer who knows Grand Rapids DUI laws can help limit your conviction, reduce the length of your driver’s license suspension, and lessen the offense on your criminal record. The benefits of hiring a DUI attorney often far outweigh the costs.

I offer exceptional service at reasonable rates. My focus is on my clients, unlike large firms that focus on the bottom dollar.

A man pulled over on the side of the road is asked by a police officer to take a breathalyzer

More Frequently Asked Questions

Learn more about different situations that Mark has faced and how he can help simplify your needs. Mark Caldwell has represented thousands of clients over 15 years and is here to help answer your questions!

In Michigan, a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) can be charged if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. For commercial drivers, the limit is 0.04%, and for drivers under 21, any detectable alcohol can result in a charge.

Yes, you should get a lawyer for a DUI in Michigan to help fight your case, lower your conviction, and possibly expunge the charge from your legal record. Proper legal representation protects you and your rights. Without a DUI lawyer, the charge could have detrimental effects on your employment, lifestyle, and finances. DUI fees, suspended licenses, and increased insurance rates can be expensive and impact several aspects of your life.

While you can refuse to take a breathalyzer test, Michigan has an implied consent law, meaning refusal results in an automatic license suspension and other penalties.

Yes, if convicted of a DUI, your driver’s license will likely be suspended. The suspension period varies based on the specifics of your case and prior offenses.

The probation for a first DUI conviction in Michigan is a driver’s license suspension or restriction of up to 6 months. With the right attorney and approach, you can get your license back within 45 days with some restrictions. A first DUI conviction also involves a fine of $100 to $500, up to 93 days in jail, up to 360 hours of community service, a misdemeanor or felony on your criminal record, and 4 to 6 points on your driving record. A second or third DUI conviction can result in longer probation, increased fees, and more community service requirements.

Yes, a DUI can be reduced in Michigan to a “reckless driving involving alcohol” or “careless driving” charge if your lawyer challenges the charge in court or makes a plea bargain with the prosecutor. You may need to complete a drug treatment program, such as sobriety court, as a part of the deal.

An OWI stays on your record permanently in Michigan unless it is expunged. An experienced DUI lawyer can help you request the expungement of an unlimited number of eligible misdemeanors and up to three eligible felony offenses. Prior to Michigan’s Clean Slate initiative becoming effective in 2022, OWI offenses were not expungable.

Yes, a DUI can be dropped in Michigan by reducing the conviction or making a plea bargain with the prosecutor. An experienced drunk driving lawyer can help fight your case to reduce the charge, represent you in a plea bargain, or expunge the conviction from your criminal record. Dropping a DUI in Michigan can lead to faster driver’s license restoration, a clean criminal record, and better long-term employment and financial outcomes.

Contact Mark Caldwell for a Free Consultation