DUI & Drunk Driving

Expert Grand Rapids Drunk Driving Attorney

Limit DUI Consequences & Protect Your Future

A DUI (officially known as an ‘OWI’ or ‘Operating While Intoxicated/Impaired’ in the state of Michigan) charge will significantly impact your criminal record and your future. Whether it’s your first OWI offense or your third, an experienced DUI lawyer can help you fight charges, reduce your penalties, and protect your rights.

Benefits of Legal Representation for DUI

Working with an experienced Grand Rapids DUI lawyer can help:

  • Limit your conviction
  • Reduce penalties and consequences
  • Reduce the length of your driver’s license suspension
  • Lower the offense on your criminal record
  • Ensure you have the best chance at employment and housing opportunities

How Drunk Driving Defense Attorney Mark Caldwell Can Help with DUI Convictions

Attorney Mark Caldwell understands the anxiety and stress that comes with an OWI offense. That’s why he offers a free consultation to help guide you and formulate the best course of action. Consulting with an experienced drunk driving attorney early in the process can protect your future.

Here’s how Mark Caldwell helps DUI clients:

null

Outlines a Plan

Mark offers a step-by-step guide on the legal process of defending someone with a DUI. He knows the local Grand Rapids laws and advocates for your rights. If you’re under 21, he will help keep you out of jail and your future intact.
null

Partners with You

He is a caring, helpful expert who will fight for you and your future.
null

Creates a Personalized Strategy

He uses the facts of your case to give you the best defense against a DUI and reduce your criminal consequences. He can help you gain a better outcome by proving issues such as problems with the breathalyzer, inaccuracies in the officer’s testimony, or violations made during the arrest.

By consulting with Attorney Mark Caldwell, you receive knowledgeable representation and strategic counsel to reduce the consequences of a DUI. He’ll help you get back on the road and back to a life you love.

Facing with a DUI/OWI charge can be scary and confusing.

The best thing you can do is schedule a free consultation right away. But it also helps to educate yourself about how the system works so you can feel confident about making the right decision.

What you should know about Michigan drunk driving offenses:

1st Offense

Low BAC Offenses (.16 or lower)

OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) or Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD)

$100 to $500 fine and one or more of the following:

  • Up to 93 days in jail.
  • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver license suspension for 30 days, followed by restrictions for 150 days.
  • Possible vehicle immobilization.
  • Possible ignition interlock.
  • Six points added to driver record.

1st Offense

High BAC Offenses (.17 or lower)

OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) or Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD)

$200 to $700 fine and one or more of the following:

  • Up to 180 days in jail.
  • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • One year license suspension
  • The Secretary of State may issue a restricted license 45 days after the suspension starts if the person is otherwise eligible.
  • Proof of installation of an ignition interlock device is required before a restricted license will be issued.

Probation Violation

2nd Offense

Any combination, second offense within seven years:

OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) or Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD)

$200 to $1,000 fine and one or more of the following:

  • Five days to one year in jail.
  • 30 to 90 days community service.
  • Driver license denial/revocation for a minimum of one year.
  • License plate confiscated.
  • Vehicle immobilization 90 to 180 days unless vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • Six points on driver record.

3rd Offense

Any combination, third offense within ten years (felony):

OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) or Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD)

$500 to $5,000 fine and one or more of the following:

  • One to five years imprisonment.
  • Probation with 30 days to one year in jail.
  • 60 to 180 days community service.
  • Driver license denial/revocation for a minimum one year.
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization one to three years unless vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • Registration denial.
  • Six points on driver record.

Know Your Rights

What You Need to Know About Michigan’s Implied Consent Laws

When you got your Michigan driver’s license, you agreed to submit to a chemical test to determine your BAC if … Read more

Everything You Should Know if You’ve Gotten an Underage DUI Charge

If you’ve received an Underage DUI Charge, here’s what you need to know. Getting pulled over and charged with a … Read more

Can You Refuse to Take a Breathalyzer Test?

If you’re a Michigan resident facing a DUI charge, it’s essential to understand the breathalyzer test and the legal process … Read more

Know Your Options

Everything you need to know about finding the best Michigan DUI lawyer

If you’ve been charged with a DUI (driving while intoxicated) or OWI (operating while intoxicated), you know that selecting the … Read more

What to Ask a DUI Lawyer During Your First Consultation

If you are facing a DUI charge in Michigan, you might be wondering where to start and what questions to … Read more

Michigan Sobriety Court: Everything You Need to Know

Getting a drunk driving charge can be stressful, especially if it’s a second or third offense. The penalties in Michigan … Read more

Contact Mark Caldwell for a Free Consultation